November 4, 2015

SCA Glenn T. Seaborg Science Scholarship

 Seaborg Scholars are among the few students invited to attend the Nobel Ceremonies and Banquet.

The SCA Glenn T. Seaborg Science Scholarship was established in 1979 in honor of internationally famedchemist and former SCA Board Chair, Dr. Glenn T. Seaborg.

In 1952, Dr. Seaborg received the Nobel prize for his work in transuranium elements. He discovered or co-discovered numerous atomic elements, including atomic element number 106, which in 1994 was officially named Seaborgium in his honor. Dr. Seaborg held many distinguished positions including serving as Chair of the Atomic Energy Commission under President Kennedy and Chancellor of the University of  California at Berkeley. Dr. Seaborg was also a Chairman Emeritus of the Swedish Council of America and in 1962 was named Swedish American of the  Year by Vasa Order of America. In addition to his visionary leadership of SCA, Dr. Seaborg also provided leadership to many Swedish-American organizations and was widely recognized across the Swedish-American community for his dedicated leadership.

In addition to receiving airfare and a stipend for living expenses, the recipient of the SCA Glenn T. Seaborg Science Scholarship is one of a handful of young international scientists who participate in the Stockholm International Youth Science Seminar, a weeklong series of events arranged in conjunction with the Nobel festivities which take place each December. Participants come from around the globe for an intense week of presentations from their fellow attendees, lectures by Swedish scientists, and meetings with international Nobel Laureates. The week culminates with the students participating in the Nobel Ceremony and Banquet – perhaps the hottest and most selective ticket in the world! In the words of one recent recipient, this is “truly the experience of a lifetime”.

The SCA Glenn T. Seaborg Science Scholarship is presented annually to an outstanding student selected from a list of candidates nominated by the Presidents of the six Swedish Heritage Colleges that are Institutional Members of SCA. Each of these colleges or universities maintains an active connection with modern Scandinavia through language study, student exchange programs, and cultural events. Nominees must be full-time junior or senior level students majoring in the natural science majors  at the at one of the six colleges named above. Nominees are assessed on past academic achievement, demonstrated ability to conduct independent research, creative potential, and ability to represent effectively and positively the six Swedish-American colleges and the Swedish Council of America at SIYSS and the Nobel festivities.

If you are interested in being nominated for consideration for the SCA Glenn T. Seaborg Science Scholarship, contact your college president or head of your department. Nominations for the next award are due in the beginning of February.

Click here for more information, including nomination form, for this and all other SCA Scholarships.

List of Seaborg Scholarship Recipients Since 1979
Where are they now? The achievements of the first 15 Seaborg Scholarship Recipients
Memories and reflections from recent Seaborg Scholarship Recipients
Report from 2012 SCA Glenn T. Seaborg Science Scholar Dawn Comstock – Gustavus Adolphus College