November 16, 2015

2011 – AoM

Portland, OR
April 2011
2011 AofM Portland

Pictured left to right (top photo): Ross Fogelquist (Award of Merit recipient 1987), Judy Rust, Leif Rosqvist, Sandra Nelson Miller, Elisabeth Mendenhall, Lillian Johnson, Kristi Johnson-James, Jeff Klein, Ellen Jacobson, Ted Johnson (SCA Awards Chair) and Alice Iverson. Seated: Willow Hagans (SCA Chairman), Lars Nordström and Denver James.

The Swedish Council of America held its 2011 annual meeting in Portland, Oregon,April 7-10, 2011. A highlight of the weekend was the Awards Presentations.Swedish Council of America’s Awards Program honors outstanding contributions to Swedish America and the world by famous and not-so-famous individuals.

Elevenindividuals from the Portland region were presented the SCA Award of Merit.The Award of Merit is given to honor and thank these persons for their work atthe grassroots level in the cause of preserving and promoting Swedish heritage.SCA has recognized over one hundred individuals across North America and Swedensince the award was established at Swedish Council’s 25th Anniversary in 1997.

Recipients in Portland included Alice Iverson, Ellen Jacobson, KristiJohnson-James, Denver James, Lillian Johnson, Jeffrey Klein, ElisabethMendenhall, Sandra Nelson Miller, Lars Nordström, Leif Rosqvist and JudithRust.

Awards Of Merit