November 16, 2015

2007 – AoM

Minneapolis, MN
April 21, 2007

Nineteen Awards of Merit were presented at the Swedish Council of America’s 35th Anniversary gala dinner on April 21, 2007. Pictured here are Urban Lundberg, chairman of SCA’s Awards and Recognition Committee, and award winners Nels Backman, Ewa Rydåker, Char Bostrom, Edgar Eklof, Lorraine Sward Carlson, Paul Dahlin, Carol Sakrison Larson, Lillemor Horngren, Stan Swanson, Dee Kleinow, Claudia Pratt, Ron Swanson, Elsie Hanson, Fran Hillier, Jack Swanson, Louise Unkrich, Harry Anderson and Les Touve. Not pictured: Jo Mihelich.

2007 Award of Merit Mpls

Hailing from North and South Dakota, Iowa, Wisconsin, and Minnesota, these individuals represent 15 different SCA affiliate organizations. They are recognized by the Swedish Council of America and by their organizations for their many years of service on behalf of Swedish America.

Harry Anderson
Swedish American Historical Society of Wisconsin
Char Bostrom
Twin Cities Swedish Folk Dancers/Nisswa-Stämman
Nels Backman
Swedish Cultural Heritage Soc. of Red River Valley
Lorraine Sward Carlson
Dalesburg Scandinavian Association
Paul Dahlin
American Swedish Institute Spelmanslag
Edgar Eklof
American Swedish Institute Male Chorus
Elsie Hanson
VOA Norrskenet Lodge #331
Fran Hillier
Swedish Genealogical Society of Minnesota
Lillemor Horngren
VOA Linde Lodge #492
Dee Kleinow
Swedish Genealogical Society of Minnesota
Carol Sakrison Larson
Swedish Fdn. of Iowa’s ‘Swede Bend Settlement’
Jo Mihelich
VOA District Lodge #7
Claudia Pratt
Nordic Culture Clubs/Scandinavian Hjemkomst Fest
Ewa Rydåker
American Swedish Institute
Dr. John Swanson
Augustana Heritage Association
Ron Swanson
Swedish Genealogical Society of Minnesota
Stan Swanson
VOA Norrskenet Lodge #331
Les Touve
Swedish American Historical Society of Wisconsin
Louise Unkrich
Swedish Heritage Society of Swedesburg

Grand Rapids, MI

September 15, 2007

2007 Award of Merit MichiganOn Saturday, September 15th, 2007, Arne Fahlen and Cai Rubin received the Award of Merit in conjunction with the 10th Anniversary celebration of the Swedish American Heritage Society of West Michigan. The success of the SAHS is a wonderful example for all Swedish America, having grown from nothing to over 400 members in a mere 10 years and actively involving members of all generations, especially youth. Pictured from left to right are SCA Board members Kerstin Trowbridge and Lennart Johansson, award recipients Arne Fahlen and Cai Rubin, and Society founders and 2003 SCA Award of Merit recipients Doris and Clarence Anderson.

Atlanta, GA
October 12, 2007

2007 Award of Merit AtlantaDuring the SCA board meeting weekend in Atlanta, fourteen Awards of Merit were presented at a banquet held at the Carter Presidential Center on Friday, October 12, 2007. These were the first Awards of Merit presented in Georgia.

Back row: Ulla Zreloff (VOA – Nordic Lodge #708), Ed From (Scandinavian Festival of Georgia),  Guye & Joe Dupcak (VOA – Nordic Lodge #708), Monica Eklund (SWEA – Atlanta), Jorgen Conradsen (Scandinavian American Foundation of Georgia), Jill Olander (SACC – Atlanta), Göran Rygert (Vasa Drängar), Urban Lundberg (SCA Awards & Recognition Chair).

Front row: Sam Linden (VOA – Nordic Lodge #708), Margareta Martin (Scandinavian American Foundation of Georgia), Maria Kransmo (SWEA – Atlanta), Lilian & Dale Nordin (VOA – Nordic Lodge #708). [seated]Barbro Linden (VOA – Nordic Lodge #708)


October 13, 2007

2007 Award of Merit ArizonaOn Saturday October 13th, 2007, two Awards of Merit were presented to members of SWEA-Arizona in conjunction with the Western Americas Regional Meeting of SWEA (Swedish Women’s Educational Association).Margaretha Turner and Britt Marie Flynn were presented the award by SWEA founder Agneta Nilsson who also serves on the SCA’s Board of Directors.



Cleveland, OH
October 20, 2007

The Swedish Cultural Society of Cleveland celebrated its 80th anniversary with a banquet dinner on Saturday, October 20th, 2007. In conjunction with this event, Urban Lundberg, SCA Awards & Recognition chairman, presented Awards of Merit to (left to right) Lars Eriksson, Iris Stjernholm, Glenda Carlsson and Peggy Hallqvist (not pictured).

 2007 Award of Merit Cleveland