November 4, 2015

SCA Award of Merit


Ronald Johnson of Dalesburg, SD, with his Award of Merit.

Ronald Johnson of Dalesburg, SD,  with his Award of Merit.

Established at Swedish Council of America’s 25th Anniversary in 1997, the SCA Award of Merit is intended to recognize those individuals from within the Swedish-North American community, and especially within SCA Affiliate Member organizations, who have contributed in meaningful and substantial ways to the furtherance of the following ideal:

To promote knowledge, understanding and appreciation of Swedish heritage in North American life and to strengthen contemporary cultural and educational ties between the United States, Canada and Sweden.

This is the essence of Swedish Council of America’s mission, and therefore it is SCA’s desire to recognize, publicize and publicly thank those deserving persons who unselfishly volunteer their time and energies, share their ideas and talents, and lend their hearts and skills to the myriad tasks, both large and small, that are required to keep local Swedish-North American organizations in good health and to create, plan, implement and execute the programs and events which make those organizations successful.

Individuals are nominated for the SCA Award of Merit by their local SCA Affiliate Member organization or other organizations involved in the Swedish-American community . These nominations are reviewed by the SCA Awards & Recognition Committee which then recommends recipients to the SCA Board of Directors . Most SCA Awards of Merit are presented at semi-annual SCA Meetings but can also be given at other occasions. Deadlines for consideration in the semi-annual round of awards are February 1 and August 1. Nominees must be living persons who are not currently serving as elected members of SCA Board of Directors.

Click here to go to the SCA Award of Merit Nomination Form.

Since the award was established nearly two decades ago, SCA has bestowed the SCA Award of Merit on over one hundred individuals across North America and Sweden. Here are some of the recipients:

Awards Of Merit